Annual Celebration

Each year, the Chamber celebrates the accomplishments of the community and the organization at Annual Celebration. As well, Annual Awards are given to individuals and organizations across the community to recognize their contributions to Wamego.

Corey Reeves, 2016 Board President, Wamego Resident & Volunteer, and General Manager of Manhattan Broadcasting emcees the January 30th event.

Annual Celebration

2016 Award Winners

On January 30 at the Columbian Theatre, 200+ Chamber members witnessed five memorable award presentations at the Annual Celebration. Each year, the Chamber thanks its members and the contributions of the community at the Annual Celebration, highlighting those individuals and organizations who have impacted the community over the past year and over a lifetime. Award winners are listed below with links to their award videos!

Impact Award – Troy Hemphill, VIDEO    Troy was honored for his selfless dedication to teaching, coaching, and entertaining the community by directing “Hoo Haw” for many years. His dedication to service over decades has made a difference!

Impact Award – OZ Museum, VIDEO    The OZ Museum has seen tremendous visitor number growth in the past 3 years, seeing almost 40,000 visitors in 2015. The economic impact for Wamego and neighboring retail and restaurant businesses is great.

Impact Award – WHS NHS Honor Flight, VIDEO   The NHS Honor Flight bridges generations of high school students with veterans on a trip of a lifetime each year, visiting Washington D.C. war memorials and creating lasting memories and relationships for a lifetime.

The Spirit of Wamego Award – Charlie White, VIDEO   Long-time Wamego resident and business owner (Bank of the Flint Hills), Charlie White, was recognized for his service of distinction to Wamego over a lifetime, playing integral roles in Chamber, economic development, volunteerism and servant leadership in the community.

Citizens of the Year – Bob & Lorinda Sultzer, VIDEO    Dynamic duo Bob and Lorinda Sultzer were honored for their creative volunteerism for the Columbian Theatre productions, OZ Museum, Community Health Ministries Farmers Market, and Pyro Crew sound among other activities.